Amiga-Development

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Created for developers of all Amiga camps

Author Topic: variable vs fixed frame rate  (Read 3560 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tolkien

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
variable vs fixed frame rate
« on: October 08, 2013, 12:09:57 PM »

Trying to understand various ways of doing the same I  have a question.
I always do my stuff within one vblank(well I try) but this thing with delta timming is interesting.

But what are they cons and pros? It is a good idea in classic use variable frame rate or is better use fixed one?

Bring me some light.
Logged

SamuraiCrow

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 379
  • Coolness is compiled
    • View Profile
Re: variable vs fixed frame rate
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2013, 04:24:03 PM »

I always viewed the idea of variable frame rate animation as being a thing for PC computers that won't allow you to disable the multitasking kernel to take over the hardware.  The responsiveness suffers due to uneven load balancing and so on.
Logged

tolkien

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Re: variable vs fixed frame rate
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2013, 05:06:17 PM »

S?o...what happend if you want to code in a system friendly manner?
Does variable frame rate uses 100% cpu always no care what happend ?
Logged

SamuraiCrow

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 379
  • Coolness is compiled
    • View Profile
Re: variable vs fixed frame rate
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2013, 06:11:18 PM »

System-friendly programming is not a good idea until there is a collection of game libraries built-in to the OS to make it reasonable to do so.  Just ask Team Chaos Leader how hard it is to do a system-friendly game.  Total Chaos takes 32 megs of RAM with about 4 of those devoted to the code alone!
Logged

Team Chaos Leader

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 484
  • JC + Asm Coder
    • View Profile
Re: variable vs fixed frame rate
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2013, 11:59:13 PM »

S?o...what happend if you want to code in a system friendly manner?
Does variable frame rate uses 100% cpu always no care what happend ?

I don't understand what you mean by "variable frame rate".
I will just assume that you mean it the way I do it: the frame rate slows down on slower machines but speeds up on faster machines.

The way I coded mine it doesn't use 100% cpu power.  You can always adjust your code a bit to use less cpu power and get a slower framerate.  Or use more cpu power to get a higher framerate.
Logged

SamuraiCrow

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 379
  • Coolness is compiled
    • View Profile
Re: variable vs fixed frame rate
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2013, 03:42:19 AM »

3D games use variable frame rate so that the animation gets smoother when there is a faster processor and skips frames on slower machines but it does it in such a way that the positions are updated in a corse manner when the CPU gets overloaded.
Logged

Team Chaos Leader

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 484
  • JC + Asm Coder
    • View Profile
Re: variable vs fixed frame rate
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2013, 06:22:54 PM »

3D games use variable frame rate so that the animation gets smoother when there is a faster processor and skips frames on slower machines

That is exactly how I do it in 2D games.
Logged

Veda

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 1008
  • Sleep is overrated
    • View Profile
Re: variable vs fixed frame rate
« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2013, 08:32:15 PM »

The amiga has a fixed frame rate end of story.

This does not exclude double or tripple frame buffering.
Logged

Team Chaos Leader

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 484
  • JC + Asm Coder
    • View Profile
Re: variable vs fixed frame rate
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2013, 09:50:53 PM »

The Amiga hardware video output has a fixed framerate and so does PC, Mac, etc.

But the software that generates the frames has infinitely variable framerates.
Logged